Builders in the sky!!! Shocking Photos!!

/  

Att785358

Thousands of metres up the vertiginous slopes of Shifou Mountain in Hunan Province, China, a team
of workers, operating with hardly any safety measures, are building a footpath
Att785359

The workers are building a plank road on the side of the mountain that, once it is finished,
will stretch for 3km (9843 ft) and be China’s longest sightseeing footpath

48-year-old Yu Ji (above) is one of the workers and he has been working on high cliffs building such plank roads for more than 10 years. He comments: “Young people don’t want this job, as it requires them to stay deep in the mountains for months or even years”
Att785362

Yu Ji takes charge of the most dangerous part of the project –
drilling the holes to set up pipes to support the footpath

Building a plank road on Shifou Mountain is difficult because the
cliff stands vertical at 90 degrees, without any slope or alcoves

A finished section of the footpath

About photographybypixie

Hi, I'm Pixie. I'm a graphic designer and photographer, I also run 2 online gift shops Visit my Gift Shop for photography and some fractal and digital art or visit my Hippy Gift Shop if you love bright crazy colours and psychedelic designs I use this blog as a kind of diary to tell you all about my life and my work and to show my photos and designs. I hope you enjoy looking.

Posted on August 6, 2011, in diary / blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. awesome photos. china is an amazing place. never mind what people say about it. china has mountains, oceans, lakes, Karst terrain, rivers, GREAT regular people and food that’s so good I cannot even describe it. these photos are great. I wish I lived there but then I can’t live everywhere at once.

    • I wish i could visit china one day, it looks so amazing in the picture i’ve seen and stories i’ve heard from friends and family who have visited, i don’t think i’d like working on this path though, it looks so scary!!
      Glad you like the photos, i just HAD to share them when i saw them as i was just gobsmacked!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

